Ceres Negros FC Wins Inaugural PFL Title - Philippines Football League
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1354,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,boxed,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1200,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-philippines football league,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

Ceres Negros FC Wins Inaugural PFL Title

It was a night to remember last Saturday at the Pana-ad Park and Football Stadium as Ceres Negros FC claimed the inaugural Philippines Football League title after a 4-1 mastery over Global Cebu FC.

Iain Ramsay had a performance to remember in his final match for the club, scoring a hat-trick on the on a rainy night to kick start the celebrations in front of a capacity crowd at the Pana-ad Stadium.

Bienvenido Marañon started the festivities with a fourth minute goal. Ramsay picked out the Spanish forward, who finished it off with a volley past Patrick Deyto.

Ramsay opened his account in the 20th minute. Stephan Schrock was released on the breakaway, then sent an inviting ball for Ramsay to finish.

Seven minutes later, it was 3-0. Junior Muñoz picked out Marco Casambre in the right flank, leaving everyone behind before cutting it back for Ramsay for the finish.

The Filipino international completed his hat-trick at the hour mark. Patrick Reichelt provided the assist to complete Ramsay’s hat-trick.

Global scored a late consolation goal from Darryl Roberts, but the night belonged to Ceres and to the province of Negros as they claimed the first PFL title.

Philippines Football League Chief Executive Officer Lazarus J. Xavier offered his congratulations to Ceres Negros after their historic feat.

“On behalf of the Philippines Football League, I congratulate Ceres Negros FC for a wonderful run that culminated in the championship win,” said Xavier. “After 112 Regular Season games and 6 matches in the Finals Series, I congratulate everyone who participated this season and we hope to see everyone when we return next year.”